Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Seattle: Start of something new

Soccer

The GIST: Grab a cup of joe and see who the Storm select with the 11th overall pick in tonight’s WNBA Draft. On second thought, with both our pro soccer squads, the Mariners and college volleyball in action, maybe snag two cups.

April 15, 2021
Source: OL Reign/Twitter
Source: OL Reign/Twitter

⚽️Soccer: OL Reign has entered the chat. They play their first Challenge Cup match tomorrow at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, against the 2020 tourney champs, the Houston Dash. Watch for Reign forwards Bethany Balcer and GIST ambassador Tziarra King on the attack.

  • The Sounders also return to the pitch tomorrow, opening the MLS season against Minnesota United FC at 9:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. PT...directly conflicting with the Reign game. Set up your second screen, you don’t want to potentially miss another classic.

⚾️MLB: After just 24 pitches, Mariner pitcher James Paxton’s season is over. The M’s announced on Tuesday that Paxton would need season-ending elbow surgery. Not only were we excited to see Big Maple back for his second stint with the M’s, but his absence leaves a hole in the pitching rotation. Sigh.

🎓🏐Volleyball: It’s postseason! Both the No. 6 UW Huskies and No. 15 Washington State Cougars had byes into the NCAA Tournament’s Round of 32. They’ll dig in tonight with the Huskies serving at 3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT and the Cougs following up at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT.