Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Seattle: Storm struggle to win while missing key players Sue Bird and Breanna Stewart

Football

August 19, 2021
Source: ESPN Stats & Info/Twitter
Source: ESPN Stats & Info/Twitter

🏈Seahawks: Thank goodness safety Jamal Adams is well aware that mom knows best, signing a four-year, $70 million extension on Tuesday to become the NFL’s highest-paid safety. It sounds unlikely he’ll play in Saturday’s 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT preseason game against the Denver Broncos, but he’s “ready to go win some championships” and so are we. 

🏀Storm: Though Jewell Loyd balled out with 35 points last night, the Storm fell 83–79 to the NY Liberty and ex-Storm players Natasha Howard and Sami Whitcomb. That said, the loss comes with an asterisk as our defending champs were playing without Sue Bird and new mom Breanna Stewart for a second straight game.

  • The rematch is set for tomorrow night at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT. Nothing we do better than revenge.

⚾️⚽️Box scores: Seattle showed Dallas who’s boss last night. The Mariners beat the Texas Rangers 3–1 and the Sounders (still riding high from their rivalry win) defeated FC Dallas 1–0. Texas couldn’t hold ’em.