Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Seattle: Okay ladies, now let’s get in formation

Basketball

The GIST: Like Seahawk QB Russell Wilson, we were living for the Obamas’ fashionable outfits yesterday. Also like Wilson, we’re here to hype up women’s sports.

January 21, 2021
Source: WSU Cougar Women’s Basketball/Twitter
Source: WSU Cougar Women’s Basketball/Twitter

🏀Rest and rebound: The Washington State women’s basketball team had a rough go of it last weekend, losing in overtime to both USC and then-No. 8 UCLA. With the two losses, Wazzu fell out of the top 25 rankings just as fast as they climbed into them. Womp womp.

  • They’ll look to bounce back against No. 13 Oregon tomorrow at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT. The Ducks are the only other team to beat Wazzu this season, so the Cougs would love some payback. 

🏐🤸‍♀️Coming for the kill: Maybe the Cougs, or basketball, aren’t your thing. That’s alright. Husky fans, you’re in luck: two UW women’s teams have season openers this weekend. Serve’s up for the No. 8 volleyball squad against Arizona State tomorrow at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

Following that up, the gymnastics team, ranked No. 19 heading into the season, swings into action against Oregon State on Saturday at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT. Go Dawgs!