Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Chicago: White Sox Earn 8-7 Win Over Tampa Bay Rays

Basketball

June 17, 2021
Source: Charles Rex Arbogast/AP Photo
Source: Charles Rex Arbogast/AP Photo

โšพ๏ธMLB: Things couldnโ€™t be decided in nine innings last night, but in the bottom of the extra 10th inning, the White Soxโ€™s Yasmani Grandal drilled a walk-off RBI to give the South Siders an 8โ€“7 win over the Tampa Bay Rays. HYFR! Even with injuries mounting, the Sox sit atop the American League. Daydreaming about October yet, Sox fans? 

  • Yesterday was a different story for the Cubs, who were swept by the NY Mets with a 6โ€“3 loss. The North Sidersโ€™ batters have been in a funk and were kept there by Mets pitcher Jacob DeGrom. Sigh. 

๐Ÿ€Sky: Courtney Vandersloot earned her 2,000th assist and Allie Quigley scored a season-high 23 points in the Skyโ€™s 105โ€“89 win over the Minnesota Lynx on Tuesday. Vandersloot is only the fourth in WNBA history to reach that milestone. Proud. 

  • The Sky head into tonightโ€™s game having won three straight, while their opponent, the Connecticut Sun, are missing their top scorer, Jonquel Jones, as she represents Bosnia in the FIBA European championship. Is that...opportunity knocking? 

โšฝ๏ธWhat to watch: Both Fire FC and the Red Stars return to the pitch on Saturday, facing the Columbus Crew at 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT and the Washington Spirit at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT, respectively.