Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Dallas: Couldn’t help but wonder…

Basketball

The GIST: While the Stars and Mavericks continue the grind on their respective playing surfaces, the Cowboys’ rumor mill grinds on, fueled by lingering questions about quarterback (QB) Dak Prescott’s future with the squad.

January 28, 2021
Source: Kyle Terada/USA TODAY Sports
Source: Kyle Terada/USA TODAY Sports

🏈Cowboys: With so many QBs on the market this offseason, the longer the Cowboys wait to sign free agent Prescott — who suffered a season-ending ankle injury in Week 5 — the murkier his future with the team becomes. 

  • Owner and general manager Jerry Jones claims Prescott has all of the leverage heading into contract negotiations, but we can’t help but wonder if the Cowboys are considering parting ways with Dak in favor of one of the many available QBs. 
  • After two offseasons spent trying to reach a long-term agreement, will the third time be the charm for Dak and the ’Boys? Or will we see a new QB leading the offense next season? You already know how we’ll be waiting for the news.

🏒Stars: Yes, they’ve only played three games...but the late-start Stars are undefeated! They’ll carry the momentum of Tuesday’s thrilling 2–1 overtime win over the Detroit Red Wings to tonight’s 8:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. CT rematch. Drama.

🏀Mavericks: Despite three more players returning from COVID-19 protocols last night, the Mavs suffered a 116–104 loss to the Utah Jazz for their third straight L. Let’s hope the Mavs can turn things around in round two vs. the Jazz tomorrow at 10 p.m. ET/9 p.m. CT.