Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Dallas: We fly high

Baseball

The GIST: Not over Baylor’s dominant performance on Monday? Neither are we. And while the Mavs couldn’t keep up the luck on the hardwood, the Rangers and Cowboys are giving us plenty to celebrate.

April 08, 2021
Source: Jerome Miron/USA TODAY Sports
Source: Jerome Miron/USA TODAY Sports

🏀Mavericks: Kristaps Porzingis poured in a double-double, but it wasn’t enough to lift the Mavs, as they fell 102–93 to the Houston Rockets last night, snapping their five-game win streak. They’ll face another challenge in tonight’s 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT tilt with two-time reigning MVP Giannis Antetokounmpo (pronounced YONNIS ANDEDO-KOONPO) and the Milwaukee Bucks. 

  • Last time the Mavs played the Bucks, Milwaukee held on for a three-point nail-biter win. But, Dallas also had key players out for that contest due to COVID-19 protocols. New squad, who dis?

⚾️Rangers: Led by pitcher Kyle Gibson’s six scoreless innings and eight strikeouts, the Rangers secured the series win with yesterday’s 2–1 victory over the Toronto Blue Jays. They’ll need more great defense when they take on the high-powered offense of the San Diego Padres tomorrow at 8:05 p.m. ET/7:05 p.m. CT. 

🏈Cowboys: Talk about a sight for sore eyes. Quarterback Dak Prescott is back on the gridiron and looking strong after he suffered a season-ending ankle injury in Week 5 last season. Is it September yet?