Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

LA: And the Oscar goes to...

Baseball

Dodgers faltered yesterday, losing 8–7 in extra innings

April 26, 2021
Source: Jayne Kamin-Oncea/USA TODAY Sports
Source: Jayne Kamin-Oncea/USA TODAY Sports

⚾️Dodgers: We kept both eyes open for every at-bat of this fiery rivalry series, but unfortunately the Dodgers faltered yesterday, losing 8–7 in extra innings to drop three of four games to the San Diego Padres. A dagger in the hearts of Dodgers fans everywhere.

  • The Dodgers begin a three-game series against the Cincinnati Reds tonight at 10:10 p.m. ET/7:10 p.m. PT. Trevor Bauer isn’t scheduled to pitch against his former squad, but you bet he’ll have something to say.

🏀Lakers: Anthony Davis returned to the court on Thursday, but his presence wasn’t enough to jumpstart the Lakers, who lost back-to-back games to the Dallas Mavericks. The Lakers are still fifth in the Western Conference, but they’re just one and a half games ahead of the aforementioned Mavs. Too close for comfort.

  • Tonight’s 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT game against the Orlando Magic is key for the Purple and Gold, who need to stop their slide down the standings to avoid the dreaded play-in tournament. It’s gut-check time.

⚽️Galaxy: The Galaxy beat the New York Red Bulls 3–2 yesterday, thanks to a hat trick from forward Javier Hernández (aka Chicharito). But midfielder Sebastian Lletget (pronounced leh-JET) was missing from the pitch: MLS issued him a two-game suspension on Saturday for his use of an anti-gay slur, which he subsequently apologized for. The right call.