Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Los Angeles: Largest Crowd Since Pandemic Shut Down Cheer Dodgers to Victory

Basketball

June 17, 2021
Source: Mark J. Terrill/AP Photo
Source: Mark J. Terrill/AP Photo

🏀Clippers: While we’re still in shock that Kawhi Leonard is out indefinitely with a sprained knee, the Clips took it in stride. In Kawhi’s absence, Paul George posted a huge double-double and Reggie Jackson was clutch in the Clips’ 119–111 Game 5 victory over the Utah Jazz last night. Playoff P and Mr. June, coming through.

  • Although Utah drained 17 (!!!) three-pointers in the first half, the Clips weathered the storm and came out strong after halftime. Fired up.
  • And hey, here’s hoping tomorrow night’s full capacity crowd will buoy the Clips to their first conference finals appearance ever. Staples Center, make some noise.

⚾️MLB: The energy from 52,078 fans definitely boosted the Dodgers to a 5–3 win over the Philadelphia Phillies on Tuesday, but the Chavez Ravine faithful couldn’t lift the defending champs to a series sweep yesterday. Can’t win ’em all.

  • Meanwhile, the Angels want to shake off being swept by the Oakland A’s yesterday. Shohei Ohtani is set to take the mound at 9:38 p.m. ET/6:38 p.m. PT tonight for “Reopening Day” against the Detroit Tigers. Light that baby up. 

🏀Sparks: Even with the Ogwumike (pronounced oh-gwoo-MIH-kay) sisters out due to injuries and Te’a Cooper serving a one-game suspension, the Sparks still beat the Phoenix Mercury last night. Let’s make it two straight against Phoenix tomorrow at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT.