Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free twice-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Los Angeles is the City of Champions

Baseball

Dodgers win their first World Series in 32 years.

October 29, 2020
SOURCE: THE PLAYERS’ TRIBUNE/TWITTER
SOURCE: THE PLAYERS’ TRIBUNE/TWITTER

The GIST: They finally did it! The Dodgers slayed their postseason demons to lift their first World Series trophy in 32 years. We’re still cheersing to that!

⚾️Mission complete: Eight straight National League West division titles. Two World Series heartbreaks. Now, the Boys in Blue are champions at last! On Tuesday night, with a little help from Tampa Bay's curious pitching change, right fielder Mookie Betts sealed the deal with an insurance run. Imagine trading Mookie Betts. We literally can’t.

  • After years of playoff woes, future Hall of Fame pitcher Clayton Kershaw finally earned his ring. And oft-maligned manager Dave Roberts became the second Black manager and first Asian-American to win the World Series. Representation matters.
     
  • We’re antsy for the future parades to safely celebrate the Dodgers and Lakers together. Mask up, LA!

🏈⚽️Step right up: So...who's next to bring home a championship? For our football and fútbol teams, it's probably not the Chargers or Galaxy. Sorry fellas.

  • But the Rams are still potential contenders, especially after beating the Chicago Bears on Monday Night Football to move to a 5-2 record. See if the Rams can maintain their stingy defense against the Miami Dolphins on Sunday at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT.
     
  • In soccer, LAFC are in the thick of the MLS playoff mix. Catch them next on Sunday at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT against the San Jose Earthquakes.