Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Chicago: Brighter days ahead for the Cubs

Baseball

June 03, 2021
Source: Cubs/Twitter.com
Source: Cubs/Twitter.com

 ⚾️MLB: After an up-and-down start to the season, the Cubs’ three-game sweep of the San Diego Padres feels like a turned corner. Javier Báez hit three home runs (including yesterday’s bullet), and Anthony Rizzo returned from injury to earn five hits in two games. The North Siders are on top of their National League Central division, and boy, it feels good. 

  • The White Sox’s series finale against Cleveland was postponed yesterday due to inclement weather. While we wait for tonight’s game against the Detroit Tigers, we’ll keep obsessing over the Sox’s new city jerseys. South Side pride. 

🏀Sky: The Sky fell 84–83 to the Phoenix Mercury in a heartbreaker on Tuesday, marking Chicago’s fifth straight loss and third without star Candace Parker. Hopefully the squad can snap their losing streak when they play the Mercury again tonight at 10 p.m. ET/9 p.m. CT. 

🎥 What to watch:

  • ⚽️The Red Stars will look to rebound from their 2–1 loss to the Houston Dash last weekend with a win against the North Carolina Courage on Saturday. Keep an eye out for striker Mallory Pugh, because we like what we see

🎓⚾️The Notre Dame men’s baseball team was selected for an at-large bid to the NCAA tournament, and will also be hosting one of the 16 regional tournaments. The Fighting Irish’s first game is against Central Michigan at 1 p.m. ET/12 p.m. CT.