Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

LA: Trading places

Basketball

This Week in Los Angeles Sports

March 18, 2021
Source: Getty Images
Source: Getty Images

🏈Football: The Rams agreed to trade QBs with the Detroit Lions back in January, and it turns out they weren’t done dealing with Motor City. The Rams sent defensive tackle Michael Brockers to the Lions yesterday in exchange for a 2023 seventh-round pick. We’ll miss the defensive co-captain, but the team was determined to creatively clear cap space.

  • Meanwhile, the Chargers strengthened their offensive line by signing All-Pro center Corey Linsley and guard Matt Feiler yesterday. We like the idea of more protection for QB Justin Herbert...that 45–0 drubbing is still fresh in our minds. 

🏀Basketball: Kawhi Leonard called the Clippers’ inconsistency “very concerning,” and last night’s 105–89 loss to the Dallas Mavericks was definite proof of that. The Clips literally have not strung together consecutive wins since mid-February. Welp.  

  • As for the Lakers, they take on LaMelo Ball (yep, those Balls) and the Charlotte Hornets tonight at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT. LaMelo is apparently “not really” excited to play his oldest brother’s former teammate, LeBron James. Kids these days.
  • LaMelo probably won’t show any more enthusiasm for his bros’ old college team, but hey, we’re pumped to watch UCLA and USC in March Madness. Catch up here before the madness begins tonight at 9:57 p.m. ET/6:57 p.m. PT.