Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Seattle: OL Regin acquire USWNT star Rose Lavelle

Basketball

May 20, 2021
Source: Phelan M. Ebenhack/AP
Source: Phelan M. Ebenhack/AP

 โšฝ๏ธOL Reign: Guess whoโ€™s coming to town?! USWNT star Rose Lavelle. Just before Lavelle went overseas to play for Manchester City last August, OL Reign acquired her NWSL rights from the Washington Spirit in exchange for a future draft pick and $200,000. Money well spent. 

  • Rose is set to join the Reign on May 26th, so she wonโ€™t play in Sundayโ€™s match against the Portland Thorns. But she could make her Reign debut on May 30th against the Spirit, her old NWSL squad. We canโ€™t make this sh!t up.

๐Ÿ€Storm: The tables were turned for the Storm on Tuesday, losing 96โ€“80 to the Las Vegas Aces. The closest the Storm came to giving the Aces a run for their money was at the end of the third quarter, when newcomer Katie Lou Samuelson hoisted a deep 3-pointer to cut the deficit to four. 

  • The Storm take on the Minnesota Lynx tonight at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, though theyโ€™ll be without Samuelson. Sheโ€™ll miss the rest of May to help Team USA qualify for the Olympics in 3x3

๐ŸฅŽUW: No. 16 (weโ€™re still salty about that) UW softball open the postseason tomorrow at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT, hosting Portland State, Seattle U and Michigan at NCAA Regionals in a double-elimination tournament. With back-to-back-to-back Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year Sis Bates leading the charge, the Dawgs are in good hands.