Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Chicago: It’s not how you start...

Baseball

Sox, Cubs, Notre Dame

April 08, 2021
Source: Ted Warren/AP
Source: Ted Warren/AP

⚾️Sox: The Sox are as hot and cold as 2008 Katy Perry. The South Siders won by a margin of six runs in each of their first two games against the Seattle Mariners this week, only to give up seven runs in the sixth inning to lose by eight in their final matchup yesterday. Sigh. 

  • The series highlight? First baseman José Abreu’s grand slam on Tuesday night, which marked his 200th homer with the Sox. Someone’s been eating their Wheaties. 
  • Hopefully the Sox will snap back to their Tuesday energy for their home opener against the Kansas City Royals today at 4:10 p.m. ET/3:10 p.m. CT. 

Cubs: The Cubs lost two of three games to the Milwaukee Brewers this week, including yesterday’s 4–2 snoozer. Luckily, Cubbies center fielder Joc Pederson woke us up when he hit a homer  — his first hit with the franchise — and was gifted the Cubs’ traditional waffle maker. Love it. 

  • The boys are back this afternoon when they take on the Pittsburgh Pirates at PNC Park at 1:35 p.m. ET/12:35 p.m. CT. 

🏐Notre Dame: After going 14-3 in the regular season and taking second place in the ACC, the Irish women’s volleyball team was selected as one of 48 teams for the NCAA Tournament. Fans are already counting down until the first round next week. Let’s go Irish!