Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Chicago: White Sox All-Star Pitcher Helps Team Keep Top Ranking

Baseball

July 08, 2021
Source: Jim Mone/AP Photo
Source: Jim Mone/AP Photo

⚾️White Sox: The American League-leading White Sox beat the Minnesota Twins 6–1 yesterday, taking the series 2-1 in the process. Lance Lynn — who was recently selected as one of three Sox pitchers to play in the All-Star Game — only allowed one run in six innings. No Spider Tack required. *wink wink*

⚾️Cubs: The third game of the Cubs’ series with the Philadelphia Phillies was just as offensively explosive as the first two...but thankfully the North Siders came out on top this time. The Cubbies won last night’s game 8–3, bouncing back from 11 straight losses, including the Phils’ 13–3 and 15–10 victories earlier this week. Fly that W (finally)!

👀What to know: 

  • ⚽️Chicago Fire FC beat Orlando City FC 3–1 thanks to goals scored by Boris Sekulić, Robert Berić and Chinonso Offor. 
  • 🏀The Sky face the Washington Mystics on Saturday at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT for their final game before the Olympics. The teams last met in the season opener, when the Sky won by 26 and Kahleah Copper began her All-Star season with 19 points. Run it back!

⚽️The 3-2-4 (wins, draws, losses) Red Stars are in for a tough match against the 4-1-3 Houston Dash on Sunday at 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT as Chicago will be missing three USWNT players. *crosses fingers*