Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Dallas: Wings Delete Tweet About Donation to Police Foundation

Basketball

The GIST: Texas legislators have delivered plenty of terrible takes lately, but the Wings (yes, the WNBA’s Wings!) are giving them a run for their money…

June 10, 2021
Source: Dallas Wings/Twitter
Source: Dallas Wings/Twitter

 🏀Wings: Coming off an 85–81 victory over the Phoenix Mercury on Tuesday, the squad is looking strong on the court, with a two-game road win streak. But off the court? Not so great. In a now-deleted tweet, the Wings said they planned to donate $20 to the Arlington Police Foundation for every blocked shot this season. Umm, read the room?

  • The team is back in action tomorrow night at 10 p.m. ET/9 p.m. CT in a rematch with the Mercury. Here’s to extending that win streak...and to more thoughtful tweets.

⚾️Baseball: Dallas is dazzling on the diamond. The Rangers snapped a three-game losing streak with yesterday’s 4–3 extra innings walk off win over the San Francisco Giants. Next up, a three-game weekend series with the defending champion LA Dodgers, beginning tomorrow night at 10:10 p.m. ET/9:10 p.m. CT.

  • In college news, unranked Dallas Baptist upset No. 6 TCU and beat Oregon State to advance to their first NCAA Super Regionals in 10 years. They’ll take on Virginia in a best-of-three series beginning Saturday at 12 p.m. ET/11 a.m. CT. Keep the celebrations coming