Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Seattle: All we do is win

Baseball

The American League (AL) West-leading Mariners won two of three games against the Houston Astros this weekend.

April 19, 2021
Source: Mark Kuhlmann/NCAA Photos
Source: Mark Kuhlmann/NCAA Photos

⚾️Mariners: The American League (AL) West-leading Mariners won two of three games against the Houston Astros this weekend. We feared the worst when pitcher Nick Margevicius (pronounced mar-GAV-ih-chiss) — the injured James Paxton’s starting rotation replacement — exited yesterday’s game early. But manager Scott Servais indicated it was just arm fatigue. No more injuries, please.

  • The M’s take on Kyle Seager’s brother and the reigning world champion LA Dodgers tonight at 10:10 p.m. ET/7:10 p.m. PT. Let’s show little bro who’s boss.

🎓🏐Volleyball: The No. 6 UW Huskies survived their second straight five-setter, edging out the No. 11 Louisville Cardinals yesterday to advance to the Elite Eight. Led by Maria Bogomolova’s clutch serving, the Huskies dug deep to come back from a six point deficit in the final set. Never count ’em out.

  • There’s no rest for the weary: the Huskies’ next match is bright and early today at 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT against Pittsburgh (who, as we mentioned, upset No. 3 Minnesota yesterday.) Dubs up.

🎓🥎Softball: No. 6 UW softball followed up with a huge 6–1 win of their own yesterday to take all three conference games against No. 4 Oregon. The star of the show? Outfielder Sami Reynolds, who hit three home runs over the weekend. See ya!