Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Dallas: Don’t call it a comeback

Baseball

Mavs couldn’t pull out the W for North Texas yesterday.

April 12, 2021
Source: Jerome Miron/USA TODAY Sports
Source: Jerome Miron/USA TODAY Sports

🏀Mavericks: The bad news? Despite a double-double from Kristaps Porzingis and a game-tying shot from Luka Doncic with seconds left on the clock, the Mavs couldn’t pull out the W for North Texas yesterday, falling 119–117 to the San Antonio Spurs.

  • The good news? Newly acquired guard JJ Redick could make his Mavs debut as soon as tonight, when Dallas takes on the Philadelphia 76ers at 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT. Can’t wait. 

🏒Stars: Left winger Roope Hintz netted his lucky number 13th goal of the season, winning free breakfast for the Big D and a point for the Stars, but they couldn’t secure the win, falling 3–2 in a shootout loss to the Nashville Predators last night. Womp.

  • And, although their exact return date is still TBD, center Tyler Seguin and star goalie Ben Bishop returned to the ice for a practice skate on Saturday. Here’s hoping they’ll return in time for a late playoff push.

⚾️Rangers: Well, at least the Rangers were part of baseball history this weekend. After being the victims of the San Diego Padres’ first no-hitter in franchise history, the Rangers couldn’t bounce back and were swept by the Padres, including another shutout loss yesterday. Sheesh. They’ll need to get it together for tonight’s 7:10 p.m. ET/6:10 p.m. CT matchup with the Tampa Bay Rays.