Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 4x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Los Angeles: Dodgers sweep Pittsburgh Pirates and continue to climb the rankings

Baseball

The GIST: Like we said above, we’ve had enough of the off-diamond WTF moments involving the Dodgers and Angels. Now, let’s talk about the Sparks and the on-diamond action.

August 19, 2021
Source: Marcio Jose Sanchez/AP Photo
Source: Marcio Jose Sanchez/AP Photo

🏀Sparks: The Sparks are flying after the Olympic break. Buoyed by Kristi Toliver’s clutch shooting and a near triple-double from Nneka Ogwumike (pronounced NEH-kuh oh-gwoo-MIH-kay), the Sparks grabbed an 85–80 overtime win over the Atlanta Dream on Tuesday. 

  • Plus, our gals are finally back at their rightful home court: Staples Center. Good vibes all around. The Sparks look to keep groovin’ in tonight’s 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT rematch. 

⚾️MLB: The Dodgers swept the Pittsburgh Pirates last night and are now three games behind the National League (NL) West–leading San Francisco Giants. We’d love for the Dodgers to win their ninth straight NL West title and avoid that one-game wild-card playoff game as much as possible, please.

As for the Angels, Ohtani led them to a 3–1 win yesterday over the Detroit Tigers, throwing 90 pitches over eight innings and hitting his 40th home run of the season. Hot damn. The Halos will go for the sweep today at 1:10 p.m. ET/10:10 a.m. PT.