Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Chicago: Let’s go, go, go...Fly the W

Baseball

Opening Day for White Sox and Cubs

April 01, 2021
Source: Ross Franklin/AP Photo
Source: Ross Franklin/AP Photo

⚾️Sox: The young, scrappy and hungry White Sox open their season against the LA Angels tonight at 10 p.m. ET/9 p.m. CT. Something tells us the late night will be worth it.

  • Most of the South Siders’ favorites will be back on the diamond tonight, including starting pitcher Lucas Giolito, first baseman José Abreu and shortstop Tim Anderson, who, BTW, has already set some high expectations for the squad. Love the confidence.

Cubs: It’s a beautiful day to be a North Sider because Wrigley is ready to welcome (some) fans back for the Cubs' Opening Day game against the Pittsburgh Pirates at 2:20 p.m. ET/1:20 p.m. CT. Kyle “The Professor” Hendricks is starting on the mound, and fans are looking forward to attending another one of his classes.

  • While the Pirates are in a rebuilding phase, the Cubs are looking to defend their NL Central division title and then some. Opening the season with a win would be a great place to start. Go, Cubs, go!

🏀Bulls: The Bulls extended their five-game losing streak last night, falling 121–116 to the Phoenix Suns. This is Chicago’s season-worst skid, and it comes right after All-Star Nikola Nikola Vučević was signed to take the Bulls to the “next level.” Something’s off, and if the Bulls have any hope of a postseason berth, they need to figure it out ASAP.