Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Dallas: Lights, camera, action

Football

The GIST: While we wait for the Cowboys to select a new star tonight, we’ll be watching highlights of the Wings’ rookie talent on repeat. Welcome to the show!

April 29, 2021
Source: Tim Heitman/USA TODAY Sports
Source: Tim Heitman/USA TODAY Sports

🏈Cowboys: After strengthening their offense this offseason, the Cowboys need to make some serious defensive additions during the NFL Draft. We’re expecting the ’Boys to take Alabama cornerback Patrick Surtain II with the 10th overall pick, but if we’ve learned anything about owner Jerry Jones, it’s to expect the unexpected.

  • And if those sugar plum visions of tight end Kyle Pitts in a Dallas uniform come true, we’ll happily wait until the later rounds for some defensive reinforcements. Only time will tell.

🏒Stars: After Monday’s thrilling overtime win, the Stars looked like a completely different team on Tuesday, falling 5–1 to the Carolina Hurricanes. Yeesh. But there’s still playoff hope: the Stars are just two points out of fourth place (and the final playoff spot) in the Central Division with seven games remaining.

  • The playoff hunt continues tonight at 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT against the defending champion Tampa Bay Lightning. But Saturday’s 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT game against the Nashville Predators is the one to watch.

It could mark the long awaited return of center Tyler Seguin, who led the Stars in points last season but has been out with a hip injury all year. Baby come back