Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Dallas: Stayinโ€™ alive

Basketball

The GIST: You lose some, you (hopefully) win some. The Mavericks might have dropped their season-opener, but the Cowboys could still turn things around in the Big D with a big win this weekend.

December 25, 2020
SOURCE: TOM FOX/DALLAS MORNING NEWS
SOURCE: TOM FOX/DALLAS MORNING NEWS

๐Ÿ€Mavericks: Despite MVP candidate Luka Donฤiฤ‡โ€™s impressive 32-point showing, the Mavs fell to the Phoenix Suns 106โ€“102 last night. Womp womp.

  • Theyโ€™ll have a chance to turn things around with a primetime Christmas Day showdown against the defending champion LA Lakers at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT. A win against this talented Lakers squad would be the perfect โ€” albeit unexpected โ€” gift.

๐ŸˆCowboys: The โ€™Boys face the Philadelphia Eagles in a crucial NFC East matchup Sunday at 4:25 p.m. ET/3:25 p.m. CT. Dallas needs to string together a third consecutive win (and see a Washington Football Team loss) to keep their playoff dreams alive.

  • The Eagles took down the Cowboys 23โ€“9 earlier this season, but Philly has struggled as of late, losing five of their last six games.
  • And luckily, star Cowboys RB Ezekiel Elliott โ€” who missed the first game of his career due to an injury last week โ€” thinks heโ€™ll be ready to play again by Sunday. Keep your fingers crossed!