Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

LA: Star power

Hockey

This week from the Clippers, Lakers, and Kings.

February 22, 2021
Source: Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE via Getty Images
Source: Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE via Getty Images

🏀Clippers: After Friday’s impressive bounce-back win ruined the Utah Jazz’s perfect February, the Clips fell 112–108 in crunch time yesterday to the Kevin Durant-less Brooklyn Nets. The combined firepower of Brooklyn’s James Harden and Kyrie Irving was too much to handle.

  • And while turnovers definitely contributed to the Clips’ loss, we’ll still be side-eyeing that offensive foul call on Kawhi Leonard with eight seconds left. Hmm.

Lakers: The Clips have their stars back...but the Lakers are sorely missing one of theirs. The absence of Anthony Davis— who is out for four weeks recovering from a calf strain and Achilles tendinosis— was evident in Saturday’s loss to the lowly Miami Heat. 

  • No matter what LeBron says, the whole team needs to step up if the Purple and Gold want to get back to their winning ways. We’ll see if they do tonight against the Washington Wizards at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

🏒Kings: Somewhat surprisingly, the Kings earned their fourth-straight win on Saturday. They’ll put that streak to the test tonight at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT against the West Division-leading St. Louis Blues. Don’t let the Blues play Gloria.