Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Dallas: Two is better than one

Basketball

The GIST: For the first time since 2017, a school is sending both its women’s and men’s teams to the Elite Eight, and it’s none other than our Baylor squads. Sic ’em, Bears!

March 29, 2021
Source: Baylor WBB/Twitter
Source: Baylor WBB/Twitter

WBB: After outscoring their opponents by a combined 91 (!!!) points in their first two games, No. 2 Baylor faced their toughest test yet on Saturday, battling for a 78–75 OT victory over No. 6 Michigan. They’ll take that energy into a must-see showdown against No. 1 UConn tonight at 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT.

  • Led by All-American Paige Bueckers, the Huskies come with a lot of hype, but the Bears boast an All-American of their own in NaLyssa Smith, who literally couldn’t miss on Saturday. Final Four, we’re coming for you.
  • And No. 6 Texas upset No. 2 Maryland yesterday, advancing to their 10th Elite Eight. Projected No. 1 WNBA draft pick Charli Collier (p.s. she’ll likely land with the Wings!) posted 16 points. The Longhorns will play No. 1 South Carolina tomorrow. Hook ’em!

MBB: The No. 1 Baylor Gentleman Bears handled No. 5 Villanova with ease on Saturday, posting a dominant 62–51 win. Adam Flagler was clutch off the bench, scoring a team-high 16 points while Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year Davion Mitchell stepped up big on offense, adding 14 of his own. 

  • With a Final Four appearance on the line, the Bears will look to ride that momentum into tonight’s 9:57 p.m. ET/8:57 p.m. CT battle with No. 3 Arkansas. Let’s keep on dancing!