Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Dallas: first Finnish player in WNBA finds home with Wings

The GIST: The Mavs begin their playoff run on Saturday, the Wings’ coaching staff is working harder than anyone and the Cowboys have some early bulletin board material thanks to a broadcasting legend. Everyone’s fired up in the Big D!

May 20, 2021
Source: USA TODAY Sports/Troy Taormina
Source: USA TODAY Sports/Troy Taormina

 🏀Wings: No. 2 draft pick Awak Kuier has landed. After missing the Wings’ season opener last week due to visa issues, Kuier — the first Finnish player in the WNBA — should be in Dallas in time for their battle against the defending champion Seattle Storm on Saturday at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT. It’s out with the old, in with the new. 

⚾️Rangers: The Rangers might have won the Internet, but they couldn’t win on the field...or even get a hit. Not only did they fall 2–0 to the NY Yankees yesterday, the Rangers also became the third team to be no-hit twice this season. Yikes.

  • They’ll look to escape with a series tie in today’s 2:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. CT series finale, before the Houston Astros come to town for a rematch of last weekend’s Lone Star State showdown. Bring it on.