Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

LA: Just dance

Basketball

The GIST: Keep your eyes peeled if the injury-laden Lakers and Clippers make major moves before today’s NBA trade deadline. But let’s be real, it’s all college ball ’round here, baby.

March 25, 2021
Source: Carlie Heuple
Source: Carlie Heuple

WBB: The 3-seed UCLA Bruins tried to mess with Texas, but fell to the 6-seed Longhorns 71–62 last night. The Texas defense stifled the Bruins early and Longhorn Celeste Taylor (surprisingly not Charli Collier, the presumptive No. 1 pick in next month’s WNBA draft) was too hot to handle. Still, the Bruins should be proud of their season, especially playing with limited personnel. Chin up.

MBB: We've said it before and we'll say it again: West Coast, best coast. USC and UCLA are two of the four Pac-12 men’s teams through to the Sweet Sixteen. After demolishing No. 3 Kansas on Monday, 6-seed USC will face 7-seed Oregon on Sunday at 9:45 p.m. ET/6:45 p.m. PT. 

  • The Trojans are ready to bring it against their Pac-12 foes: Isaiah Mobley (older brother of freshman phenom Evan) is still salty about the Ducks snagging the Pac-12 regular season crown, and so are we.

As for 11-seed UCLA, no one expected them to still be dancing, and Johnny Juzang and the Bruins have a tough test against 2-seed Alabama on Sunday at 7:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. PT. Forget Roll Tide, let’s send ’Bama rolling home.