Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

LA: Like Tim Gunn says, make it work

Basketball

This Week from UCLA, USC, the Lakers, and the Clippers

March 22, 2021
Source: Getty Images
Source: Getty Images

Lakers: Life without LeBron is rough. With King James and Anthony Davis out with injuries, the Lakers shot poorly from three-point range to drop a 111โ€“94 affair to the Phoenix Suns last night. The Purple and Gold need to find ways to win games in LeBronโ€™s absence. Eek.

Clippers: With LeBron out indefinitely, our other LA team could take advantage. The Clippers are currently fourth in the Western Conference, just one game behind the Lakers. The Clips can make that gap even smaller with a win against the surging Atlanta Hawks tonight at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. Spicy.

College: Both the USC and UCLA menโ€™s squads could make our Sweet Sixteen dreams come true with wins tonight. After defeating Drake in the first round on Saturday, 6-seed USC faces 3-seed Kansas tonight at 9:40 p.m. ET/6:40 p.m. PT. We bet Evan Mobley (projected as a top-two NBA draft pick) will power the Trojans to the upset victory.

  • Meanwhile, after pulling through the First Four, 11-seed UCLA upset 6-seed BYU in the first round. With a favorable matchup against 14-seed Abilene Christian today at 5:15 p.m. ET/2:15 p.m. PT, Johnny Juzang and the Bruins have a great shot at advancing.
  • Cap off your night by watching the 3-seed UCLA women. The Bruins kick off their March Madness campaign tonight at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT against the 14-seed Wyoming Cowgirls. Saddle up.