Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

LA: Tell the world we’re coming home

Baseball

Dodgers, Angels, Lakers, Clippers

April 08, 2021
Source: Isaiah J. Downing/USA TODAY Sports
Source: Isaiah J. Downing/USA TODAY Sports

⚾️MLB: The Dodgers couldn’t complete the sweep against the Oakland A’s, losing 4–3 in extra innings yesterday. To make matters worse, center fielder Cody Bellinger missed his second straight game with an unlucky calf injury, and his status remains TBD. Sigh.

  • Woes aside, our defending champs receive their championship bling at tomorrow’s home opener — in front of fans. Put a ring on it.
  • Meanwhile, the trash cans and Oscar the Grouch aren’t coming with the Angels when they hit the road with a four-game series against the Toronto Blue Jays of Florida starting today at 7:07 p.m. ET/4:07 p.m. PT. 

🏀NBA: The Lakers are just trying to survive without their stars, slipping to fifth in the Western Conference standings. Hopefully new guy and three-point specialist Ben McLemore will be a difference-maker against the Miami Heat tonight at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT.

  • The other new guy, Andre Drummond, should return from the toe injury he sustained in his Laker debut last week. Even better news? The better known “AD”, Anthony Davis, might be close to suiting up for the Purple and Gold. Is that hope in the air?
  • Meanwhile, the Clippers are gearing up for tonight’s 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT top-three Western Conference clash with ex-Clipper Chris Paul and the Phoenix Suns. Tune in.