Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

LA: Eye of the tiger

Basketball

The GIST: While the v. injured Lakers signed Andre Drummond yesterday to upgrade the center position, the USC and UCLA men are absolutely rolling. Watch out, here comes LA.

March 29, 2021
Source: UCLA Menโ€™s Basketball/Twitter
Source: UCLA Menโ€™s Basketball/Twitter

USC: For the first time in forever 20 years, USC is back in the Elite Eight! The No. 6 Trojans sent the No. 7 Oregon Ducks quacking home with a 82โ€“68 victory last night. Weโ€™re accustomed to freshman sensation Evan Mobley starring for the Trojans, but Isaiah White drained a career-high four 3-pointers to finish with a team-leading 22 points. Go off.

  • The Trojans need to be on their A, no, their A+ game tomorrow night at 7:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. PT when they face top-seeded powerhouse Gonzaga. Fight on.

UCLA: From the First Four to the Elite Eight...can we get an 8-clap? No. 11 UCLA pulled off the overtime upset over No. 2 Alabama last night. The Bruins squandered their double-digit halftime lead and really had us sweating for the rest of the game. *wipes brow*

Top scorer Johnny Juzang fouled out late in regulation, but five other Bruins scored double figures to grind out the victory. Theyโ€™ll need more of that grit tomorrow at 9:57 p.m. ET/6:57 p.m. PT against No. 1 Michigan. Are the glory days back?