Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Seattle: Six wins for the โ€™ship

Basketball

The GIST: Gonzaga has their sights firmly set on winning their first national championship, while Eastern Washington hopes to snag their first-ever NCAA Tournament win. To infinity and beyond.

March 17, 2021
Source: David Becker/AP Photo
Source: David Becker/AP Photo

No. 1 Gonzaga vs. No. 16 TBD: Gonzagaโ€™s first-round opponent is still a mystery for now. Appalachian State and Norfolk State will duke it out in a play-in game on Thursday to earn the right to face the โ€™Zags on Saturday at 9:20 p.m. ET/6:20 p.m. PT. 

  • Gonzaga has the most efficient offense in the country, while App State and Norfolk State are not even in the top 200. Yikes. Whoever  the โ€™Zagsโ€™ opponent is, this should be light work for them.

No. 14 EWU vs. No. 3 Kansas: Eastern Washington has a tough test against perennial power Kansas on Saturday 1:15 p.m. ET/10:15 a.m. PT. But Kansas is dealing with COVID-19 issues and their player availability is in flux. Can the Groves bros and the Eagles pull off the upset?