Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Chicago: Sky earn second win against Atlanta Dream

Basketball

May 20, 2021
Source: Phelan M. Ebenhack / AP
Source: Phelan M. Ebenhack / AP

 🏀Sky: On the strength of Kahleah Copper’s 23 points, the Sky beat the Atlanta Dream 85–77 last night, even without Candace Parker, who was sidelined with an ankle injury. Two wins down, 30 to go. 

⚾️White Sox: The White Sox beat the Minnesota Twins 2–1 yesterday to win the series 2-1. The midwestern matchup turned dramatic after Yermín Mercedes hit a home run off a 3-0 pitch thrown by a Twins position player on Monday. 

  • The Sox were already up by 11 runs, so by swinging at the pitch, Mercedes broke one of old-school baseball’s “unwritten rules” and angered Sox manager Tony LaRussa. Another day, another battle of old versus new baseball. *rolls eyes*
  • Then on Tuesday, Mercedes was not-so-subtly hit by a pitch from Twin Tyler Duffey, who was promptly ejected from the game. Did LaRussa stick up for his targeted player? Nope, he said he “didn’t have a problem with it.” WTF? 

⚾️Cubs: After winning the first two games of the series, the Cubs lost 4–3 to the Washington Nationals last night. The North Siders were without star first baseman Anthony Rizzo, who left Tuesday’s game due to back tightness. And while it’s expected to be a short-term issue, fans hate to see Rizzo out right when the Cubs were starting to get hot. Sigh.  

🥍College lacrosse: Don’t miss the NCAA women’s lacrosse tournament this weekend, as both Northwestern and Notre Dame play in the quarterfinals on Saturday against Duke at 1 p.m. ET/12 p.m. CT and Boston College at 3 p.m. ET/2 p.m. CT, respectively. 

  • Then on Sunday, catch the Fighting Irish men’s team in their quarterfinals against the Maryland Terrapins at 2:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. CT. So close to bringing home the hardware.