Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free 3x-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Dallas: Keep it 100

Basketball

This week from College Basketball and the Mavericks

March 22, 2021
Source: NCAA WBB/Twitter
Source: NCAA WBB/Twitter

๐ŸŽ“๐Ÿ€WBB: With the womenโ€™s tourney being held in Texas, No. 2 Baylor clearly felt right at home, handling No. 15 Jackson State with ease in a 101โ€“52 blowout yesterday. Sheesh. Meanwhile, No. 12 Stephen F. Austin nearly pulled off a first-round upset, falling 54โ€“52 in overtime to No. 5 Georgia Tech. What a game.

  • Even more Texas teams are in action today, including No. 2 Texas A&M against No. 15 Troy at 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT, followed by No. 6 Texas and projected No. 1 WNBA draft pick Charli Collier vs. No. 11 Bradley at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT.

MBB: Our hometown teams provided two of the tourneyโ€™s biggest upsets so far, with No. 13 North Texas pulling out a convincing 78โ€“69 opening round win over No. 4 Purdue on Friday. But, the Mean Green sadly couldnโ€™t keep the magic going yesterday, falling 84โ€“61 to No. 5 Villanova. 

  • No. 14 Abilene Christian was responsible for the other upset, defeating No. 3 Texas in a 53โ€“52 thriller on Saturday. Theyโ€™ll look to continue their Cinderella story in tonightโ€™s 5:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. CT battle with No. 11 UCLA. No pumpkins here, please.
  • And in not at all surprising news, No. 1 Baylor breezed through their first two contests, punching their ticket to the oh so Sweet Sixteen. Saturday canโ€™t come soon enough.

๐Ÿ€Mavericks: The Mavs rebounded from their Friday loss to the Portland Trail Blazers, earning a 132โ€“92 win over the โ€™Zers last night and continuing their slow climb in the Western conference standings. Next up, the Mavs will face the last-place Minnesota Timberwolves Wednesday at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT. Letโ€™s keep it rolling.