Hey, we noticed you're in Canada but are currently viewing our US site. Would you like us to take you to the Canadian site, or do you want to stay on the US site?
Picking up what we're putting down? We thought you might be. Sign up for our free twice-weekly newsletter to get "the gist" of what's going on in the sports world in less than 5 minutes.
Skip to Content

Cubs, White Sox Could Advance With Win Today

Baseball

The Cubs and White Sox will both fight to stay alive in the MLB playoffs today.

October 01, 2020
SOURCE: ERIC RISBERG/AP PHOTO
SOURCE: ERIC RISBERG/AP PHOTO

The GIST: The MLB saw eight playoff games with every wild-card matchup in action yesterday, and the Cubs and the White Sox both ended up on the losing side of the scoreboard. Welp.

One game at a time: Game 1 didn’t go as planned for the Cubs, who lost 5–1 to the Miami Marlins yesterday. Ian Happ’s first postseason home run was the only one the Cubs scored all day. While fans were thrilled for Happ, they certainly weren’t glad to see the rest of the squad go ice cold behind the plate.

  • The Marlins’ bats struck gold, with two homers making up their five runs. In a best-of-three series, we’re not not nervous. The Cubs have one more shot for Wrigley’s winds to shift and keep their season alive this afternoon at 2 p.m. ET/1 p.m. CT.

It all comes down to this: The playoffs have already been a whirlwind of emotions for the White Sox. On Tuesday, Sox pitcher Lucas Giolito threw six perfect innings in the South Siders’ Game 1 win over the Oakland A’s. ICYMI, he’s pretty good. Then, in Game 2 yesterday, the A’s came out swinging. They were up 5–3 when Sox MVP candidate José Abreu stepped up to the plate with a chance to win it in the ninth inning. Unfortunately, he grounded out to end the game. So close.

  • Whichever team wins today will move on to face the Houston Astros in the American League Division Series starting on Monday. The battle begins at 3 p.m. ET/2 p.m. CT.